The Research Operations Department at Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School, is a Department within the Office of Research and its main role is to support the school’s research activities by providing the following services:

Workplace Safety

  • Oversee laboratory and workplace safety
  • Prepare SOPs, policy papers
  • Ensure compliance with all applicable regulations
  • Maintain robust Safety Management system and safety website
  • Analyze accident and incident reports
  • Ensure security and access control is maintained in labs
  • Conduct training and orientation programs

Procurement and Supply Store

  • Oversee all aspects of laboratory procurement
  • Consolidate purchases and negotiate best deals with vendors
  • Work with Lab officers to establish processes form procurement
  • Operate a research supply store

General Research Operations

  • Purchase necessary equipment
  • Ensure maintenance contracts are in place
  • Maintain the laboratories
  • T support for research

Core facilities

To establish and manage policies, online booking system and other support for operating core facilities for example, vivarium, cell sorting facilities, confocal microscopy facilities.

Name: Viji Vijayan
Designation: Director
Role: Head
Contact: viji.vijayan@duke-nus.edu.sg
Name: Mahi RN
Designation: Manager
Role: Safety & Compliance Matters
Contact: mahi.rn@duke-nus.edu.sg
Name: Lee Meng Chuan
Designation: Executive
Role: Safety & Compliance Matters
Contact: mengchuan.lee@duke-nus.edu.sg
Name: Don Heng Joo Seng
Designation: Assistant Manager
Role: Research Operations
Contact: don.heng@duke-nus.edu.sg
Name: Seah Hao
Designation: Operations officer
Role: General Research Operations
Contact: hao.seah@duke-nus.edu.sg
Name: Ho Pei Leng
Designation: Executive
Role: Procurement and Supply Store
Contact: peileng.ho@duke-nus.edu.sg
Name: Bryan Tan
Designation: Executive
Role: Procurement and Supply Store
Contact: bryan.tan@duke-nus.edu.sg
Name: Ramalingam Ponnammal (Kavitha)
Designation: Management Assistant Officer
Role: Procurement and Supply Store
Contact: kavitha.ramalingam@duke-nus.edu.sg
Name: Siammalah Arjunan Ramasamy
Designation: Management Assistant Officer
Role: General Office Administration and Core Facilities
Contact: siammalah.arjunan@duke-nus.edu.sg
For gifts-in-kind (shares, planned gifts, IT and lab equipment etc) or other any enquiries, please contact Mr. Dickson Lim at 6516 6696 or dickson.lim@duke-nus.edu.sg to discuss your gift.